Dress for the Job You Want

Freelance uniform

Fortunately, I own several variations of this very outfit. #DressforSuccess

While I’m in the throes of trying to figure out what kind of work I’m suited for, and what kind of work I can get, my upstairs neighbor said something very encouraging to me. ‘We are fortunate to live in a house of people who love what they do.’

There has been a lot said about this generation of 20-somethings. We’re entitled and miserable and don’t understand why the jobs we want aren’t coming our way. We know we are valuable and yet are so undervalued. Misery loves company. Who loves company even more are the miserable overeducated, underemployed 20-something statistics.

After graduating from my Master’s program, I spend a lot of time commiserating with friends and coworkers about being young and stuck. The economy sucks; no one’s retiring, so we can’t even apply for the jobs we want; jobs we don’t want still require a minimum 5 years experience, which we don’t have, and graduate school doesn’t count as experience; or we aren’t sure what we want to do and don’t want to take a temporary desk job just to pay the bills, only to get stuck in a position we don’t care about, but what else is there? This is the byproduct of growing up in the 90s with a strong economy and being told we can be anything we want when we grow up. Oops.

All that miserable company and commiseration makes for a lot of justification and reinforcement and inactivity.  There is more to be said for making changes and being around people who inspire and encourage and push you, instead of feeding into that self-righteous depression.

I’m not on track to make my first million by the time I turn 30. I don’t have a brilliant idea for a start-up. But I do live in a house of people who are willing to work hard to follow their interests. I’ve made small and large changes in an attempt to create the life I want to live. I’m learning that progress, professional and personal, takes time. And more time that I’m comfortable with. I’m doing my best to quell my inner Veruca Salt, but, man is she loud and demanding.

Leave a Reply

